Seven albums to look for in 2007

Alex Longo

2007 is shaping up to be a great year for music. Here are seven albums to look for in 2007 from seven bands you may or may not have heard of.

The Montreal indie-rock collective The Arcade Fire is set to release their sophomore effort titled “Neon Bible” on Merge Records. Though it’s not due out until March 6, several songs have already been leaked on the Internet, adding to the buzz surrounding the album. The band recently sold out a series of five consecutive shows in New York City in less than 10 minutes. Regarded as one of the most exhilarating live acts in music, The Arcade Fire is set to embark on a full-scale North American tour later this year.

Radiohead is currently in the studio working on its seventh full-length album. Now that the band is free from its major label contract, it has taken a great deal of time to record this still untitled album. According to the band’s online blog called “Dead Air Space,” it has been spending a great deal of time rearranging and reworking the tracks in its home studio. Fans of the enigmatic British rock group can expect a release and a tour sometime in the summer.

Emo-wunderkind-turned-easygoing-folk-singer Conor Oberst will release his next studio album, “Cassadaga,” in 2007 under his Bright Eyes moniker. The album will drop in April on Saddle Creek Records, the label that Oberst helped found. For his sixth full-length album, Oberst has again teamed up with his long-time producer Mike Mogis. On this album, listeners can expect more of the folk rock Americana that Oberst perfected on his “I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning” album.

Oberst’s labelmate, Omaha-based dance-rock band The Faint, is currently working on finishing its newest album. Rumors had the band signing to a major label with Rick Rubin on as producer, but so far, The Faint is sticking to its indie ways. The band recently did a stint of West Coast shows during which they performed some of the new material off the forthcoming album. According to The Faint’s Web site, the band plans to release the album sometime this spring. Look for hipster kids everywhere to be dancing in ’80s retro glee.

Wilco has been working on its first studio album since 2004’s “A Ghost is Born,” titled “Sky Blue Sky.” Singer/songwriter Jeff Tweedy has been performing a series of solo concerts in preparation for the band’s full tour beginning this spring. Do not expect a big diversion from the alt-rock/country sound that has been the band’s signature style for over a decade.

This March, LCD Soundsystem will release “The Sound of Silver,” the follow-up to its self-titled debut album. Though the disc will not be officially released for another few months, the entire contents were leaked on the Internet in December. Much of the album’s material was taken from their song, “45:33,” in which, along with Nike, the band created a 45-minute composition of dance electronica that is designed to be listened to when jogging or working out. The band’s crunchy electro-dance-punk sound has gained favor with fans of both rock and dance music alike.

Modest Mouse has finished recording its latest album titled “We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank.” The first single off the new album is called “Dashboard” and has been receiving heavy radio play. After the release of its major-label debut in 2004, which featured the hit single “Float On,” the band enjoyed a great deal of commercial success. However, this caused the band to lose a lot of its die-hard indie fanbase. It will be interesting to see if this talented band can maintain its mainstream popularity in the new year.