Next up, Wagner/Dormish

Thomas Celona

Juniors Bryan Wagner and Robert Dormish won the positions of SGA president and vice president, respectively, for the ’08-’09 academic year.

“It was a great election,” Wagner said. “We’re excited for next year with SGA.”

The ticket of Wagner and Dormish claimed 75 percent of the vote, while the opposing ticket of sophomores Joseph Venuto and Matthew Cornish received 25 percent of the vote.

A total of 2,154 students voted.

The election results were announced on April 4 at 12:30 p.m. at the Oreo by current SGA President John Von Euw and members of the SGA election comittee.

Upon the announcement, Wagner and Dormish celebrated with many students who had supported their campaign.

“We’d like to thank everyone who voted and our supporters,” Wagner said.

Many students wore orange clothing, including T-shirts reading “Vote Bryan and Rob,” in the days building up to the election in a show of support for Wagner and Dormish.

There was a large amount of campaigning on both ends of the ticket, involving both sets of candidates speaking to students at the Oreo before the election process was over.

The duo will take the place of Von Euw and Dave Pedra, who have held the positions of SGA president and vice president, respectively, for two terms.

In addition to the SGA president and vice president results, the winners for the University Senate were also announced.

Sophomores Kelly Maguire and Tahir Quadeer and freshman Ryan Conway received 420, 406 and 378 votes, respectively, making them the three VSB senators for the coming academic year.

Four candidates ran for the three positions.

In the contest for liberal arts senators, juniors Walter Smith-Randolph and Lauren Glozzy and sophomore Latishia James received 497, 397 and 316 votes, respectively, to claim victory.

Five candidates ran for the three senatorial positions.

Additionally, junior Obinna Eboh won the position of engineering senator, sophomore Nicole Harmuth won the position of sciences senator and junior Anna Menard won the position of nursing senator. All three of these candidates ran their campaigns unopposed.

This will be the second term for Senators Maguire, Menard and Smith-Randolph.

Voting took place online and began at noon on April 3. Polls closed at noon the following day.